If you are taking supplement of capsule form, the following may trigger your curiosity. Do you know most capsule products are of animal origin?
Gelatin capsule, both hard and soft shells, are usually derived from the hydrolysis of collagen from bovine, fish or swine. This has raised concern for some groups of people such as vegetarian or vegans, and people of certain religious or ethnic groups who are forbidden from using these animal products. Luckily, with technology advancement, vegetarian capsule (also known as vegetable capsule or cellulose capsule) is available аs alternative.
Vegetarian capsule is made up of cellulose, an important structural component in plants. Specifically a capsule is made of hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, or hypromellose for short. No other ingredients besides gellan gum are used for producing those types of capsules.
Delayed release of the capsule is paramount in delivering beneficial effect to the gut. Since the acidity of the stomach is so high that live bacteria would perish then best capsules for probiotic delivery are the ones that open in the gut. Vegetarian capsules made of hypromellose are ideal for the task, surving the trip thorugh the stomach and opening in the gut where the probiotics can thrive.
In the current market, gelatin capsule is mоrе broadly usеd than vegetarian capsule bеcause its cost of production is lower. Despite the cost factor, vegetarian capsule offers extra benefits aside from being a good substitution for gelatin capsule.
Bio4Asia project delivers a unique blend of prebiotics and probiotics to the South-East Asian market using gastro-resistant vegan capsules.